☆ Thoughts about recharging when it feels like ground hog day {random ramblings}

Rambling thoughts

originally published in the LilliBean Designs Studio Snippets newsletter.   More Here

It’s six thirty in the morning, the opening beat of Paramore’s ‘Ain’t if Fun’ starts up startling me out of my latest intensive dream. I roll over and hit snooze.

Nine minutes later Paramore is a little more insistant that it’s time to wake up.

I hit snooze again. It’s a game I play every Monday morning. The game of how many more minutes of sleep I can squeeze out before the week officially starts again.

(For the record I can hit snooze five times before I leap out of bed rushing around cursing myself for that final snooze hit.)

I have written before about the days that I’m starring in my own personal ground hog day, only to wake up and begin again. And again. And again…

These are the days I feel I am doing every thing half-assed. I feel I don’t hear my kids or Mac. My creative squeak is quiet and every ounce of energy has been sucked dry.

Have you ever felt this way?

The good news is I have five ways to share with you, that work for me, in quickly and easily recharging my energy levels, restoring my creative squeak + becoming an active member of my life with these five simple tips.

Ground hog day

1. Go to Bed. 

How can you possibly find anything inspiring, energizing or even want to

Original Painting 'Asleep' Available for purchase Here.

Original Painting ‘Asleep’
Available for purchase Here.

participate if you don’t have a good night sleep? I don’t know about you, but if I am bone tired I don’t find any inspiration in my kids creative stories, the neighbors dog chasing her shadow isn’t funny, the summer storm fails to give me a thrill.

I see nothing. I hear nothing. I am in a fog.

So when I feel like this I go to bed earlier than usual. Instead of starting that awesome book, which I know will keep me up well beyond midnight, I switch off, find a meditative podcast and have an early night.

The next morning I feel rested and ready to rock the day.

What time will you ‘retire’ tonight?

2. Go for a wee bimble.

This is what a friend of mine would call going out for a stroll. A wee bimble in the forest without having a destination in mind, for no other reason than to enjoy her surroundings.

Wee Bimbles are a fabulous way of grabbing some exercise and amazing for recharging and inviting creativity and inspiration into your day.

After all how often do you go for a walk + are blind to your environment? Before I was introduced to the wee bimble – all the time!

You don’t even need heaps of time. Bimble around your block and see what interesting and amazing treasures you can find. Look at the houses and their architecture, the trees and interesting plants, at the patterns of rocks, collect feathers, or take a photos of the cloud patterns.

When will you go on a Wee Bimble this week?

3. Book in time for Self Care.

This is so VERY important. When you take care of yourself you have the energy and strength to look after everyone else. Have you tried looking after family, friends or work when you aren’t looking after yourself?

If I do this I guarantee that I will become ill with a cold, or worse the flu.

So after my last bout of flu, I started looking after myself. Not only did this include multi V’s and health check ups, it also included regular haircuts, a six weekly appointment at my chiropractors and painting my nails every other week.

And fifteen minutes was all it took to feel better about myself, feel relaxed + open to inspiration.

What could you do today to look after yourself? 

4. Go to the Park. 
Original Painting Wild Flower Available here

Original Painting Wild Flower
Available here

If I have my kids I will take them, but I prefer to do this on the days they are at school.

I grab a coffee, my journal, put my phone on Do Not Disturb and drive to a park. Any park or beach will do. A grassy oval with some shade is just as good as a park bench at the beach.

I find some shade, drink my coffee and just see what’s around me. I let my thoughts wander. I make random notes in my journal. I doodle. And most importantly I relax.

And all I need is 20 minutes and I feel inspired and restored.

Where will you have your coffee break today?

5. Schedule some ‘NOTHING’ time.

How often do you have weeks that are chock full of appointments, events, chores, or just ‘things’ to do?

What if you scheduled in some ‘Nothing Time’? A day, an evening or even a morning per week, where you have nothing scheduled. That you leave free for spontaneous fun. Or nothing at all?

Saying no to invites is hard. I had such a problem with it, but what worked for me was not actually using the word NO; instead I used the phrase not right now.

“We won’t go to the park right now, but we will definitely go to the park another day.”

When are you going to ‘schedule’ some nothing time!


So when your energy is sucked dry, your creativity squeak is silent + your feeling like life is your own personal ground hog day try one of these tips recharge, restore + re-inspire yourself.

Do you have ways of recharging your energy levels, your inspiration or your creative squeaks? I would love to read your tips + tricks! Let me know in the comments below! 

Please feel free to share this with friends or family that could may find this helpful.

df78c-kirstinsigx

Did you know I send out an email with Studio snippets, freebies + give aways once a month? You can have your very own Studio Snippets delivered into your inbox, with free desktop art, discount codes for my online store, snippets from my life, my art + my brain. And absolutely everyone who is a member is in the draw for the monthly give away. Wanna know more? Then click HERE

Did you know I send out an email with Studio snippets, freebies + give aways once a month? You can have your very own Studio Snippets delivered into your inbox, with free desktop art, discount codes for my online store, snippets from my life, my art + my brain. And absolutely everyone who is a member is in the draw for the monthly give away. Wanna know more? Then click HERE

One thought on “☆ Thoughts about recharging when it feels like ground hog day {random ramblings}

Leave a Reply

