☆Old Art + New Inspiration [Friday Art]

9459a-friday2bart

Last week wasn’t a very productive one for me. It kinda sucked.

I had a serious case of the suckies (more to come next week on THAT subject!) and found it difficult to even walk into my studio, let alone sit at my desk and paint.

By the end of the week, I was totally sick of my own company. It was Thursday + its the day when all my kids go to school of some description. Thursday is my day. It is quality, uninterrupted time when I can concentrate on LilliBean Designs work – whether it is writing or painting or just planning.

But last week I had nothing.

Nothing to talk about. Nothing to share.

And I stood sadly looking at my messy studio, feeling uninspired and unmotivated, with crap piled every where from my last markets (three weeks ago mind!) when I realised that there was no way I could find inspiration and motivation when my haven was so uninspiring.

So after a tidy up and a shuffle around of the studio furniture, I came across a box which held all my earlier paintings. Paintings that I am not sure of what to do with, because they were my learning paintings.

They were created in a period of experimentation and joy. They were created with an open mind and open heart. And they were created as part of my journey.

Flicking through them I started to feel the tentacles of inspiration stirring. Things I loved about each painting popping out at me.

And I started to feel lighter and ready to paint again.

So I thought I would share with you the paintings that really spoke to me on that rainy day when I thought my inspiration had left the building for an extended holiday!

Boundless

Boundless

This is still one of my favourite paintings – the whimsiness of the girl + her birdcages. This was all done with water soluble crayons.

Hope

Hope

I still adore anything steam punk, but this was done during the height of my obsession.

Shadow

Shadow

Promarkers were my first love. And I never thought that I would replace them with acrylics! This was one of the last full marker drawing I did before switching to water soluble crayons.

Three Graces

Three Graces

One of the first larger paintings I ever did. And they still whisper stories to me.

So stay tuned for some new work coming through. As soon as I put the girls to bed that night, I sat down and started the backgrounds of some larger canvases. I am not sure what will turn up, but I like what I’ve started so far!

And what about you? Have you looked through some of your older work recently? Remembered a first art supply obsession? Thought about your early inspiration? 

I would love to hear what inspired you in the beginning!

df78c-kirstinsigx

Did you know I send out an email with Studio snippets, freebies + give aways once a month? You can have your very own Studio Snippets delivered into your inbox, with free desktop art, discount codes for my online store, snippets from my life, my art + my brain. And absolutely everyone who is a member is in the draw for the monthly give away. Wanna know more? Then click HERE

Did you know I send out an email with Studio snippets, freebies + give aways once a month? You can have your very own Studio Snippets delivered into your inbox, with free desktop art, discount codes for my online store, snippets from my life, my art + my brain. And absolutely everyone who is a member is in the draw for the monthly give away. Wanna know more? Then click HERE

3 thoughts on “☆Old Art + New Inspiration [Friday Art]

  1. happytiler says:

    Wow that was so interesting seeing how you have evolved…all the eyes give off different moods…it’s truly amazing…I love both the older and the newer ones!! I do love the whimsical bird cages filled with other animals!! These were fabulous!

    Hugs Giggles

    Like

Leave a Reply

