☆ Wild, Rare, Beautiful {Friday Art}

9459a-friday2bart

It has been a while since I have been inspired to dig into a large canvas painting.

In the past I haven’t enjoyed canvas painting as much as a painting on paper.  The canvas’ texture has always irritated me. But I enjoyed making these mixed media mini’s on canvas that I painted recently that I decided to go bigger.

And although it’s not a huge canvas compared to the 3×4′, 10’x10′ is massive!!

I haven’t finished this one yet, so I have some in progress shots for you just now…


Wild Rare Beautiful i

I started by digging through my box (seriously a very big box) of papers and finding some of my favourites.

Wild Rare Beautiful ii

I then poured a big blob of white paint and spread it around – thinned out some by a very wet brush.

Wild Rare Beautiful iii

Laying down the first layers. For those who have asked in the past; I mainly start with white, then add a raw sienna + then raw umber. Sometimes I add a burnt umber in-between those layers too. I really depends on what I pick up at the time!

Wild Rare Beautiful v

Her face + dress are mostly finished here, the darker layers on her face are just black paint. I know a lot of artists don’t use or like black, but I have to say I love it.

Wild Rare Beautiful vi

This is something I have started to do with every painting – I take a black and white photo of my paintings. I find it amazingly useful to see where there is too much contrast.

I also dug out the words that I initially dug out for this canvas I am just playing with the placement at the moment.

But I love these words. Separately and together!

Wild Rare Beautiful vii

I loved the cherry blossoms so much in the original back ground I decided to included them in the final painting.

Wild Rare Beautiful ix

Not much movement at the moment. I asked my Facebook peeps what they thought I should add to the painting. What they thought she should be looking at…

I have some amazing suggestions with some people delving into deep symbolism. From the stars and moon, to dragon flies and blue jays. One suggestion was an owl, symbolising feminine power. The cherry blossom is so symbolic of my home town that I love this idea, but I have to be honest I am not sure how to incorperate the owl in the painting.

And the dragon fly is such a totem for me, that it will be hard to resist.

Hmmm. What do you think? What do you think she is gazing at? I would love to hear what you think!

df78c-kirstinsigx

Did you know I send out an email with Studio snippets, freebies + give aways once a month? You can have your very own Studio Snippets delivered into your inbox, with free desktop art, discount codes for my online store, snippets from my life, my art + my brain. And absolutely everyone who is a member is in the draw for the monthly give away. Wanna know more? Then click HERE

Did you know I send out an email with Studio snippets, freebies + give aways once a month? You can have your very own Studio Snippets delivered into your inbox, with free desktop art, discount codes for my online store, snippets from my life, my art + my brain. And absolutely everyone who is a member is in the draw for the monthly give away. Wanna know more? Then click HERE

10 thoughts on “☆ Wild, Rare, Beautiful {Friday Art}

  1. kimdellow says:

    Wow Kirstin, she is gorgeous. I wondered if you fancied linking her up on my Art it Friday – Show Your Face? I’ve started a community of folks who love to share their face and portrait work from the week every Friday and it would be great if you felt like sharing too there too. Please do pop over and link up if you fancy it and have the time. Thanks for the lovely blog post. Kim

    Like

Leave a Reply

