☆ Blossom {Friday Art}

9459a-friday2bart

I had such an amazing time at the Canberra Handmade Markets over the weekend.

I meet some amazing people, talked to some very talented designers, and met some new friends.

Todays Friday Art painting is one that debuted at the markets, but is now available in the LilliBean Designs Store

~ BLOSSOM~

My home town celebrates the Sakura (or cherry blossoms) every spring, but during a mid-winter walk among the cherry blossom trees lining the local walking track, I notice there are several blossoms fighting the coldness – their delicacy and beauty a stunning backdrop to the bleakness of winter

Stage One: The base layer

Stage One: The base layer

Once I laid down my first layer of paper I noticed the lay out of the blossoms. What was a totally subconscious choice has become on of the features of this painting.

Stage Two: Sketching the Girl

Stage Two: Sketching the Girl

I’ve sketched in the girl a basic outline of her hair, her pose + clothing + I can’t wait anymore I have to paint her face.

Stage Thee: Fleshing out her face

Stage Thee: Fleshing out her face

I am loving the transparency of these paintings at the moment. That the background shines through in muted tones especially in her face. Here I am trying the possibility of white and blue hair. I think it’s because I am obsessed with having blue streaks in my hair – but I don’t think it works today.

Stage Four: Deciding on her clothing style

Stage Four: Deciding on her clothing style

I may have mentioned this before but I have a moleskine journal that I have labeled fashion – which has quick sketches of clothing I love. I dug through these pages to find something for my girl.

Stage Five: Changing her hair

Stage Five: Changing her hair

And after finishing her dress, I know the white with blue streaks hair do she was sporting had to go. If you’re a long time reader you know I love black hair, partly because as a child I wanted to have black hair and change my name to Raven, but also because it frames my girls eyes so well + makes them pop.

Stage Six: Deciding on the background

Stage Six: Deciding on the background

So I already know I am going to include the cherry blossom in the painting, but what about the other side? I decided to include the blossoms through out the whole painting. I am hoping it makes her look like she is standing in a cherry blossom grove.

Stage Seven: Painting in the background

Stage Seven: Painting in the background

And it kinda works. I am tempted to add more… but I have learnt the hard way less is more – most of the time.

Stage Eight : Final Details

Stage Eight : Final Details

Finally I add the last touches, highlighting the blossoms. Adding the heart on her cheek. I paint the sides of the canvas black.

BLOSSOM mixed media on canvas {30x30cms) Available for sale HERE

BLOSSOM
mixed media on canvas {30x30cms)
Available for sale HERE  SOLD

Thank you to everyone who popped by the LilliBean Designs stall over the weekend. I loved meeting everyone + I will definitely be back in September!

And remember if you want to see the in progress shots in real time + not wait for the Friday Art Reveal I post updates to Instagram + Facebook almost daily.

I am linking this post to TO PAINT PARTY FRIDAY  there are amazing artist who share their work weekly – definitely worth a visit!

Have a fab weekend.

df78c-kirstinsigx

Did you know I send out an email with Studio snippets, freebies + give aways once a month? You can have your very own Studio Snippets delivered into your inbox, with free desktop art, discount codes for my online store, snippets from my life, my art + my brain. And absolutely everyone who is a member is in the draw for the monthly give away. Wanna know more? Then click HERE

Did you know I send out an email with Studio snippets, freebies + give aways once a month? You can have your very own Studio Snippets delivered into your inbox, with free desktop art, discount codes for my online store, snippets from my life, my art + my brain. And absolutely everyone who is a member is in the draw for the monthly give away. Wanna know more? Then click HERE

9 thoughts on “☆ Blossom {Friday Art}

  1. Diane Baker-Williams says:

    I love the look of the background papers sightly showing through. I truly enjoy seeing the progress of the work. The blossoms are a perfect fit for her an she does look as though she is in a cherry blossom grove.

    Like

  2. JKW says:

    I appreciate how you talk to us as you fill us in on what art you are doing. I will truly miss you. I look forward to your return in Sept. Blessings, Janet PPF

    Like

  3. JKW says:

    PS. . .everyone was on Flickr when pics were posting. There have been a number of others pop up, but I choose to stay where I am with all my albums. Fortunately, I made the right decision, I hear about all the trouble Instagram is having. . . I decided to stay away.

    Like

Leave a Reply

