☆ Boys Need Art Too! {Friday Art}

9459a-friday2bart

I don’t often paint boys. My nephews have some paintings, and a few special requests have been done, but I don’t often paint boys.

Maybe it’s because I am a girl I identify with them more? Maybe it’s because I have three girls and they inspire paintings almost daily?

One of my goals this year was to paint more boys – and so far we are in July and I haven’t managed to paint a single one.

And boys need original art works too!

So I sat down last week decided to start simply and went to one of my go to boy characters – a black haired boy with an indian like head band.

Available in store here

Available in store here

The differences between painting boys + girls isn’t huge, but there is always a worry in my mind about making the boys too feminine! I worry are their lips too pouty?

I have another one planned for painting this weekend and I think I will do more! I have really enjoyed this process!

Have a great weekend.

df78c-kirstinsigx

Did you know I send out an email with Studio snippets, freebies + give aways once a month? You can have your very own Studio Snippets delivered into your inbox, with free desktop art, discount codes for my online store, snippets from my life, my art + my brain. And absolutely everyone who is a member is in the draw for the monthly give away. Wanna know more? Then click HERE

Did you know I send out an email with Studio snippets, freebies + give aways once a month? You can have your very own Studio Snippets delivered into your inbox, with free desktop art, discount codes for my online store, snippets from my life, my art + my brain. And absolutely everyone who is a member is in the draw for the monthly give away. Wanna know more? Then click HERE

9 thoughts on “☆ Boys Need Art Too! {Friday Art}

  1. Tommy Jo says:

    I, too, have been practicing boys, but none of mine come close to looking masculine enough. I love this and can’t wait to see more of yours. My squared jaws look robotic… back to the drawing board. You have inspired me to try it again.

    Like

  2. Laura (PA Pict) says:

    He’s very sweet.

    A recent life book lesson had me wondering the same thing not just about why I tend to create women when drawing /painting humans but also about why they tend to be Caucasian too. I think we draw what we know, what we can identify with, what reflects us. I am a Caucasian woman so that’s my default for human figures. I need to branch out more.

    Like

  3. happytiler says:

    Such a sweet face…I tend to stay away from male faces too…once in a while one pops in though… and I’m always happy to see it!!

    Hugs Giggles

    Like

Leave a Reply

