☆ I am totally stuck with this one! {Friday Art}

9459a-friday2bart

I started a new painting this week that I have called bravery.

It started as a simple canvas, a sweet little drawing and yet she is giving me more trouble at the moment than even my Winter Princess (see that story here!), and she is not even a third of the way finished.

evolution of bravery: part one.

The beginning stages.

The beginning stages. But she kinda looks like a bobble head. 

I am winging this one - with a rough sketch that I am not totally happy with.

I am winging this one – with a rough sketch that I am not totally happy with.

The Eyes!! Yay, they are my favourite part (as you are probably aware!)

The Eyes!! Yay, they are my favourite part (as you are probably aware!)

Again I am winging it by lengthening her corset and her legs - she looks less like a bobble head toy now (maybe!)

Again I am winging it by lengthening her corset and her legs – she looks less like a bobble head toy now (maybe!)

Bravery v

Starting the tutu…. I hate it….

In the zone yet I still hate it...

In the zone yet I still hate it…

I know that I need to just keep working on her, just like my Winter Princess, but I just can’t see beyond the tutu. So I have put her up on my shelf for a little bit and hoping for a little inspiration.

(By the way any suggestions are welcome!!)

So have a great weekend. Send some wishes into the ether for me to find some inspiration!

By the way are you a LilliBean Designs subscriber? If you are make sure you read your latest email – there is an amazing offer for you!

Hint: You can own your very own lillibean DESIGNS artwork for free!

And if you haven’t already signed up, do it now + grab your chance for your own LilliBean Designs painting.

df78c-kirstinsigx

Did you know I send out an email with Studio snippets, freebies + give aways once a month? You can have your very own Studio Snippets delivered into your inbox, with free desktop art, discount codes for my online store, snippets from my life, my art + my brain. And absolutely everyone who is a member is in the draw for the monthly give away. Wanna know more? Then click HERE

Did you know I send out an email with Studio snippets, freebies + give aways once a month? You can have your very own Studio Snippets delivered into your inbox, with free desktop art, discount codes for my online store, snippets from my life, my art + my brain. And absolutely everyone who is a member is in the draw for the monthly give away. Wanna know more? Then click HERE

19 thoughts on “☆ I am totally stuck with this one! {Friday Art}

  1. Laura (PA Pict) says:

    My only suggestion is to stick with that colour for the tutu and then layer over it with one or two light shades. I am sure you will find a way to make it all come together. I always love the way you create those big for eyes.

    Like

  2. Nic McLean says:

    well, I think she looks adorable so far and I love the collaged background. I think Laura’s suggestion is a good one – if you add lighter colours to get the gauzy feel to the netting of the tutu, I think it will look perfect.

    Like

  3. mandysea says:

    Oh gosh…. I know how this feels!!! And just got to say (lol indemnify myself) that I’m WAY no expert artist (but am a ballet teacher!) sooooo here goes….. try lowering the tutu skirt at the back especially under the right arm… perhaps its because the length of the skirt there is longer then the front could affect the perspective a bit… ( … to make the waist longer (and we do this when decorating tutus) bring some of the pink from the bodice down on the grey of the skirt and cinch in the waist a bit) By the way – I could not see the ‘bobble head’ at all!!! It’s wonderful!!! And the eyes are beautiful and engaging!

    Like

  4. Sal Scheibe says:

    I don’t have any suggestions, I think it’s great as is. The background is so nice and subtle and I love her little face! I think once you get further along on her body, it will all come together and you will know what to do and where to take it.

    Like

  5. happytiler says:

    So far she is beautiful…it will come to you, it always does!! Maybe she is an Autumn girl instead of a Summer girl…or the opposite!!

    Hugs Giggles

    Like

Leave a Reply

