☆ The 12 Days of Christmas {Day Two}

12 days of Christmas - 2newsletter sign up front page

DAY TWO: A OLD/ NEW FAMILY TRADITION

When I was younger school seemed to let out earlier than it does now. Maybe it is because when your younger Christmas seems to take F.O.R.E.V.E.R to arrive.

But it felt to me that it was two weeks of waiting, of anticipating before the big day arrived.

Growing up in Australia, the Christmas season is different for us. There isn’t that cold chill to the air, the threat of snow for that magical white Christmas, there is no curling up next to the roaring fire with the hot cocoa, we had to wait until nearly 9pm to see the Christmas lights and we definitely never, EVER had that perfectly trimmed Christmas tree.

When my sister and I were younger, we would escape from the heat and settle in to watch the midday movie (which as it’s name implies is a movie at midday!) usually this is a horrible d+ grade true to life movie – you know the one where the husband is cheating and his psycho lover and he plot the murder of the clueless wife who then turns the tables and triumphs!

But in December they used to play Christmas movies at midday. The Walton’s Christmas, The 1930’s version of Christmas Carol, Dot + the Kangaroo’s Christmas adventure. This kind of thing.

So every year my sister + I would wait in anticipation for our FAVOURITE ever Christmas move – ‘I’ll be home for Christmas’.

Not the one with the guy from Home Improvement the one with a young Courtney Cox, the soldier husband who [SORRY spoiler alert!] dies on Christmas eve not in the war but on his way home! There is family tension + drama and every year we would hang out for this movie and sit glued to the TV.

Years later, they no longer show Christmas movies at midday during December. Watching MoviesBut as this is one of my very favourite traditions I decided to continue it and include the terrible trio . So from the day school finishes to Christmas Eve, every lunch time we find a Christmas movie to watch.

And so today I wanted to share with you my top five (in no particular order!) most favourite Christmas movies.

1. I’LL BE HOME FOR CHRISTMAS

Totally over acted, family dramas, tears, emotional heartbreak + eventual happy ending.

2. HOME ALONE

Coming from a largish family I loved the idea of being forgotten and having the house to myself! With out the robbers of course!

3. LOVE ACTUALLY

Come on guys! You know I am a romance junkie!! Of course this had to be in my list….

4. NATIONAL LAMPOONS CHRISMTAS VACATION.

I love all these movies! Especially this one. Even today it’s laugh out loud funny!

5. THE NIGHTMARE BEFORE CHRISTMAS

I adore pretty much everything that Tim Burton has created. Batman, Edward Scissorhands, Beetle Juice and of course the Nightmare Before Christmas. This one totally had to be on my list!

6. DIE HARD

Ok. So not technically a Christmas movie, but I couldn’t resist. Bruce Willis in a singlet giving it to the bad guys, explosions galore? Totally on my list!!

☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

And our favourite movie snack? Chocolate smoothies (too hot for cocoa!) + Chocolate Spiders. (These are so addictive! Follow the link {here} for the recipe!)

JOIN THE CONVERSATION!

Tell us! Whats your favourite Christmas Movie? Which is the one that if it’s on TV you’ll sit down + watch it and ignore everything else? I’d love to hear about your memories!

TOMORROW?

It’s Day Three + I am sharing another simple home made Christmas gift idea! Hint? You’ll need rocks…..

MAKE SURE YOU DON’T MISS A DAY…

Use one of the social media buttons to add LilliBean to your news feeds, add LilliBean Designs to your WordPress reader or receive emails direct to your inbox by clicking {here} or below.
12 days of Christmas - email sign up

See you on day three!

 

 

2 thoughts on “☆ The 12 Days of Christmas {Day Two}

Leave a Reply

