☆ The 12 Days of Christmas {Day Three}

12 days of Christmas - 3newsletter sign up front page  

DAY THREE: ROCKS FOR CHRISTMAS?

It was awesome to hear about your favourite Christmas movies yesterday. {You can join the conversation here}

Today I want to share another quick and easy home made Christmas present that you could make in an afternoon!

This was a project that I saw on Pinterest (which is my not so secret addiction!) and new that it would make a fantastic gift for the keen gardener in my life.

The best thing about it was that I had mostly everything in my house.

PAINT YOUR ROCKS FOR CHRISTMAS.

What you need?

  1. Rocks. River rocks, any colour would work – I used white ones. Rocks with a flatish surface work the best.
  2. Acrylic paint, permanent markers, sharpies. I noticed you can buy garden markers which would work great too.
  3. Clear Varnish spray/ Clear nail polish.

So I had most of this in my studio, the only thing I needed to find was some white river  rocks. Living in a town whose livelihood is tied to the river that runs through it, I thought it would be fairly easy to source river rocks for my project.

In the end I didn’t even have to make a trip to the river. On my morning walks I walked past an area that had heaps of largish white rocks on the side of the road.

So every morning during my walk I would pop one or two in my pocket. One morning I had so many rocks in my pocket my shorts kept falling down!

But if your not in an area where you can find the rocks, try the garden stores, dollar stores for a pack of rocks.

As my recipient was a keen gardener I wanted to make garden markers.

I washed the rocks painted a white circular background + then painted some  little vegetables + fruits on the rocks with acrylic paint.Veggie markers - iI used a sharpie to outline the veggies and write the name of the marker on it.

Finally after I let it dry for a day I sprayed the rocks with my varnish.

Veggie markers - ii

I absolutely adored how these turned out. So vibrant + totally cute. I wrapped them in tissue and found a cute box to put them in.

☆ ☆ ☆ ☆ ☆

NOW IT’S YOUR TURN!

There is no limit to what you could create. And these aren’t just for the keen gardeners in your lives. There are so many different ways you can interpret this project.

Inspirational Quotes. Mandalas. Word Art. Animals. Family Names. Doodles.

Pinterest collage

Photo Credits: Image One {here}, Image Two {here}, Image Three {here}, Image Four {here}, Image Five {here}

Pop over to my Handmade Gift Ideas Pinterest Board for some other ways to decorate your rocks.

PLEASE SHARE YOUR ROCK CREATIONS!

I would love seeing the different + creative interpretations that you will bring to this notebook project.

And I would absolutely love it if you shared your creations with me + everyone else either on social media (use the hashtag #makelillibean, or tag @lillibeandesigns in your photo) or by emailing me your pics + everyone will be able share the gorgeous creations you’ve designed!

DON’T FORGET!! YOU COULD WIN MY LITTLE BOOK WITH BIG IDEAS!

Notebook xvGive yourself the gift of handmade this year by entering to win my Little Book with Big Ideas.

To win click {here} and like the LilliBean Designs Facebook page.  For an extra 1 entry follow me on instagram and for an extra 2 entries join the LilliBean Designs Snippets newsletter group. And then leave your name + email address so I can contact you when you win!

Do all three + you can have up to 4 entries in the competition hugely increasing your chances to win!

Click here to enter now:
The Little Book with Big Ideas Christmas Give Away

TOMORROW?

It’s Day Four + I am sharing my favourite thing to do with my family. Generations of women have done this in my family and for the last couple of years four generations of women have been around the table making this…

MAKE SURE YOU DON’T MISS A DAY…

Use one of the social media buttons to add to your news feeds, add LilliBean Designs to your WordPress reader or receive emails direct to your inbox by clicking {here} or below.
12 days of Christmas - email sign up

See you tomorrow.
df78c-kirstinsigx

Newsletter sig Nov 2015


MISSED A DAY?

DAY ZERO                     DAY ONE                   DAY TWO

One thought on “☆ The 12 Days of Christmas {Day Three}

Leave a Reply

