☆ Adding Whimsy to your Everyday [a new series]

Everyday Whimsy.jpgnewsletter sign up front page

I love whimsy.

And I love quirky. The quirkier the better. And I love pretty suprises and everyday items used in totally unique ways.

My favourite is when all three of those things – whimsy, quirky and unique surprises are combined together.

A lot of the time, I try and incorporate these into my artworks, taking an epic fairy tale and painting a different aspect of it, or taking a some what serious subject and adding a little surprise, or even taking unusual + surprising inspiration quotes and highlight them in my fanciful words and art collections.

whimsy art.jpg

I love taking a traditional idea and putting my own whimsy spin on it.

But I also love the idea of inviting whimsy, quirky and pretty surprises into my everyday life. Whether it be my home, the clothes I wear or the color I choose for my hair.

When we first moved into our home I was originally drawn to it because of its little quirks. Like the internal wrought iron trellis, the blue bathroom with its sunken bath, the beautiful polished hardwood floors that where hidden under turquoise carpet, the master bedroom with its private balcony and the fact that we never ever need to buy table lamps because every wall has it’s own wall light.

Internal Trellis

our internal trellis has become a hanging area for jackets, purses + key rings.

But now we’ve been here 6 years, and three kids later I feel that our quirky home has been overtaken with life. My wardrobe has become a bit mummified – black clothes hide so many stains, my closet is now less about style and more about function.

And walking through my front door I didn’t feel joy or delight. Finding something to wear in the morning makes me feel frustrated and unhappy.

Urchins

Displaying my sea urchin collection in a deep frame and using scrapbooking paper as a background.

When I was figuring out what I wanted my 2016 to look like, I realized that I wanted sort out my house and highlight the quirkier aspects as well as adding a dose of whimsy and pretty suprises through out. And I want to feel excitement when I am figuring out what I am going to wear each day.

And when I was thinking about what I wanted to share with you here on the LilliBean Blog (and what I wanted to write about!) I thought it might be fun to include a new series about adding a little whimsy to your everyday.

Adding whimsy with simple ideas and projects that don’t need a lot of supplies or money.

Creating areas of delight in your home, your workspace or your wardrobe.

Simple ideas that don’t take six months to create.

Nature Collection.jpg

Our Nature Collection – displayed on a plate + old flower pot! Collected from my walks and our adventures with the kids.

I am so excited to share this series with you + I would love to see how you create everyday whimsy in your life.

I would love to hear how you invite inspiration or whimsy into your daily life. Please share with us your tricks and tips to make life a little magical + special – leave a comment below.

Sharing your whimsy on social media? Make sure you tag @LilliBeandesigns or use the hashtag #LilliBeanWhimsy so we can see your gorgeous creations.

If you enjoyed this post please Pin or Share it with the easy to use buttons.
Want more like this? Need something else? Please let me know! 

df78c-kirstinsigxNewsletter sig Nov 2015

One thought on “☆ Adding Whimsy to your Everyday [a new series]

  1. Laura (PA Pict) says:

    I like the idea of this series. I’m not overly whimsical but I do like our house to reflect our personalities. Having emigrated with very little in the way of possessions and now renovating our 1970s home, I’m just now starting to think about how to inject our personalities into the house. I will read this series with interest.

    Like

Leave a Reply

