Making Jewellery [Behind the Scenes]

Behind the Scenes

Have you ever wondered what goes into the making of my jewellery? I was explaining the process behind it to a client last week + she was fascinated with the process + I thought it would be cool to share it with you all.

The first step in the process is to select the paintings I want to use. And not all paintings will work with the smallness of the jewellery. EditingI spend a couple of hours editing photos, printing them off + cutting them out. This process always seems to take forever – thank god for being able to binge watch programmes to take my mind of my aching fingers!J iI coat my images with mod podge to protect the image from bleeding once the resin work beginsJ iiI use a sheet of wax paper so that my images don’t stick to my desk.J iiiSometimes I need to trim the glue from my images – I am pretty slap dash when it comes to the glue partJ ivNext I glue the images into my trays J viiiOnce they’re dry the fun can begin! Mixing resin has to be precise! I have had major fails by not being exact in my measuring. J viiAn ice-cream stick is perfect for transferring the resin from my mixing cup to the trays.J viI spend the next couple of hours pouring resin and checking for air bubbles in the hardening trays – which I pop using a pin.J ixI cover up the trays so that dust doesn’t settle on them and leave them for a couple of days.Jewels collageAfter a couple of days I add chains, key rings or necklaces to the trays, and then package them up ready for sale.

My kids often come in while I am making my jewellery and beg for a new necklace or ring.

The whole process takes a couple of days and it feels like there is always a little bit of luck involved. Sometimes an image looks great on the computer but doesn’t always work in the execution.

Jewelry Box.jpg

I am excited to announce that next month I will be launching LilliBean’s Jewelry Box. Every month you will be sent a new piece of jewelry from my current collections, sometimes even before they are released to the public. If you would like to be one of the first to find out more click here.

df78c-kirstinsigxNewsletter sig Nov 2015

 

 

Leave a Reply

