My Soul Home

Rambling thoughtsnewsletter sign up front page

During the school holidays the terrible trio + I packed up the car + left on a grand adventure. (you may have seen some of the adventures in my recent Round Here post)

As we drove into the coastal city I was instantly flooded with memories from my own adventures when I was my girls age. This city, so familiar and yet so different from my childhood is in my blood.

Nobby's

And yet I have never lived there.

 

I don’t think I ever will.

But as I was sitting on the wet sand, watching as my girls played on the same rocks I did at their age, exploring the foreshore like we did as kids, snuggling up to my gran for a cuddle that I am never too old to have, reconnecting with the landscape, with family I realise that this is my soul home.

Snuggles

I asked my brother one night whether he had a soul home. I explained what I meant.

A soul home for me is a place that I come to and my soul will just sigh with happiness. It is a place I am instantly at home, I feel connected with myself again, I am filled with aspirations and possibilities. The well is no longer dry…I am at peace no matter how turbulent my thoughts

I am home. And I feel it in every fibre of my soul

He totally understood. He has one too.

Sunset Walks

So since coming home I have been thinking a lot about my time away.

I realised that I don’t have to live in my soul home to be happy. In fact if I lived there it could never live up to my fantasy. But I also can’t leave it three years before I drive over that bridge, walk into that house or stand with my bare feet in the water no matter what time of year it is.

They say a change is as good as a holiday…

But I am not sure that any change can make my soul feel just like this.

Do you have a soul home? A place that you instantly feel connected and content and filled with possibilities? I would love to hear your stories.

df78c-kirstinsigxNewsletter sig Nov 2015

Leave a Reply

